Bereavement, Grief and Loss

One of the hardest things that we can go through is the loss of a loved one. That can be through sudden or unexpected death or through a relationship breakup. There is no one or right way to grieve. Each of us will be bereaved at some stage and none of us can avoid this pain for ever. We each will cope with our loss in a very individual way. There is no one and right way to grieve and the duration can vary. It is generally recognised that there are five stages of grief,

• Denial

• Anger

• Bargaining

• Depression

• Acceptance
There is no order to these stages and there is no set time frame. When individuals experience prolonged or excessive feelings of grief or loss it is usually referred to as ‘Complicated Greif’.
It can be of great benefit to talk to one of our trained Counsellors who will help to guide you through your loss.